Born Free

Whew! It’s been an exciting afternoon so far, and not usually in the way I like it.

I came home today and was greeted happily by the dog and greeted indifferently by two cats. I decided to let the dog out in the backyard since this is usually when she goes. So, as I always do, I took her to the door, grabbed the end of the tether that keeps her in the yard, hooked it on to her collar, then went to clean litter boxes.

When I was done, I went to the back door and noticed that the end of the tether was on this side of the door. I thought for a second someone had snuck in and let the dog back in, but no…no one was there. Not even a dog.

It was at this point that I realized I must have not actually hooked the tether to the dog’s collar. I somehow slipped, didn’t notice, and let her out. I started getting a visual image of Winnie bouncing through yards, tongue lolling back and forth while  “Born Free” plays in the background.

Dammit. What could I do? I looked in the backyard to make sure she wasn’t there. But of course she wasn’t because the gate separating the backyard from the rest of the world was open. She probably ran out first thing. I sighed, grabbed a leash and walked to the terminal point of the cul-de-sac. I thought maybe she might have gone where we always walk, but no. No dog. I came back sad-hearted and fearful (“Oh, man. The roommate is going to kill me with her secret ninjitsu moves!”) and planned the next course of action.

I decided I would just get in the truck and drive around really slowly hoping to catch a glimpse of an extremely happy, bouncing, black dog. I got in my truck and got to the end of the driveway when I noticed a flash of something black in my peripheral vision. I turned and there was the dog! Head bowed in submission, tail wagging, saying, “Yeah, I knew I shouldn’t have run, but I couldn’t help it! Have you been out there? Wow!” I got out of the truck with my leash and she obediently came up to me to be leashed. Adventure over.

I was annoyed with the dog but I realized that it was my fault she ran, really. And she did come back without a problem. So I figured because I appeared with the leash in hand, which always means a walk is about to commence, I decided to go ahead and walk her. It seemed the right thing to do. So we both got two walks this afternoon.

I’m tired.

Upward-Facing Dog

Upward-Facing Dog

Leave a Reply

